Skip to content

Cheek ‘Booch!

February 29, 2012

Kombucha success! I’ve been wanting to brew my own for a while, and It’s really quite easy. Way better than spending $4 a bottle.Whether you believe all of the health hype or not, it’s a tasty beverage that’s fun to make yourself.

It all starts with a SCOBY. I couldn’t find any local sources (check with friends or Craigslist) so I used Bonzai Aphroditie’s tutorial on how to grow your own SCOBY. I tried this a few years ago but neither or my attempts worked. No troubles this time. It did take a bit longer than the 2 weeks she suggests, but my apartment is very cold. It should take less time in the summer.

Once you have your SCOBY, brew your Kombucha! Mine’s brewing away in the mason jar pictured above. Just a few simple ingredients (filtered water, tea, and sugar), and the SCOBY will transform them into a delicious, effervescent, vinegary treat! In 2 or 3 weeks you’ll have…

Cheek ‘Booch! I like it with a splash of pomegranate juice. It will become more bubbly if you bottle it and let it sit out for a day before putting it in the fridge. You can even bottle it with some fruit juice or fresh fruit for the second fermentation. Happy brewing! And I’d love to pass along my SCOBY babies to anyone interested!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

