Skip to content

Homemade Crackers

June 19, 2012

I eat a lot of crackers. Actually, I eat a lot of hummus and need a good way to get that to my mouth. If I could take one meal to a desert island, it would be crackers and hummus. I love Mary’s Gone Crackers, but they’re expensive and I go through them fairly quickly. I finally perfected my own recipe, which is easy, inexpensive, and uses up some dehydrated nut mush from my homemade almond milk. You could even experiment with mixing in quinoa, chia seeds, sesame seeds, etc.

1 cup almond meal (made from leftover almond milk nut mush, but you can buy it, too)
1 cup white whole wheat flour
1 tsp. salt
1/4 cup olive oil
1/2 – 3/4 cup cold water
Dried herbs, sea salt, etc. for topping

1. Combine the almond meal, flour, and salt in a large bowl. Add the oil and water and mix with your hands until the dough forms a ball. If it’s too dry you can add more cold water.
2. Roll out on a parchment-lined or greased sheet pan or cookie sheet. It should be about 1/8″ thick. Mine fills a 10″ x 13″  sheet pan almost perfectly. I just press it out with my hands, but you could definitely use a rolling pin.
3. Press the herbs firmly into the top of the dough. I like to use half dried rosemary with sea salt and half dried shallots. You could even mix your herbs of choice into the dough before you roll it out.
4. Cut the dough into squares so the crackers will separate after baking. Don’t worry about making them uniform; I usually have a bunch of different sizes. Or try using a small cookie cutter to make fun shapes.
5. Bake at 350° for 15-20 minutes or until crisp. Let cool before storing in an airtight container.

Hummus recipe to come! These are also delicious with some nice cheese and a glass of wine.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2012 11:47 am

    Great idea for a tasty, healthy treat. This will save me a ton of money thank you 🙂

    • sjhebbs permalink*
      June 27, 2012 11:45 pm

      Let me know how they turn out!

  2. Suz permalink
    June 28, 2012 3:12 pm

    Can’t wait to try these! They look so tasty!

Leave a Reply

