Skip to content

alt-J (∆) – Tessellate & the best albums of 2012

December 18, 2012

 

It’s the time of year when everyone is making their best of 2012 lists. I always listen to All Songs Considered’s end-of-the-year lists, and usually discover something I missed when it came out. Alt-J was the hidden gem this year, and may be one of new favorite bands. They won the Mercury Prize this year and seems to be topping a lot of best of lists. Tessellate is the song that drew me in, but the whole album is amazing. KEXP has a full live set of theirs on YouTube that’s worth a watch. I can’t wait to see them live in Boston in March!

In no particular order, here are all of my top albums of the year:

alt-J (∆) – An Awesome Wave
Exitmusic- Passage
Yeasayer – Fragrant World
Sigur Ros- Valtari
Kishi Bashi – 151a
The xx- Coexist
Passion Pit- Gossamer

And here are some other notable mentions- bands that I loved one or two songs but haven’t had a chance to really sit down with the whole album yet.

Fiona Apple- The Idler Wheel…
Of Monsters and Men- My Head is an Animal
fun.- Some Nights
Mumford & Sons- Babel
Regina Spektor- What We Saw From The Cheap Seats
Lana del Rey- Born to Die
Bat for Lashes- The Haunted Man

5 Comments leave one →
  1. December 19, 2012 9:00 pm

    Great list! I have heard of almost none of these (should I be embarrassed?) Off to check it out!

    • sjhebbs permalink*
      December 28, 2012 1:48 pm

      Thanks, Meghan! My musical tastes tend to be… interesting. I hope you found something new you liked!

  2. January 3, 2013 3:58 pm

    Fantastic list, and really, quite a bit of overlap with ours… check out our Top 50 lists at http://mattneric.com/.

    • sjhebbs permalink*
      January 3, 2013 4:40 pm

      Great lists! There are always a ton of albums that I just don’t have the time to get into… I’ll add these to my “must listen” list. I’ve heard such great things about Frank Ocean and Jack White’s albums, and how did I miss that Metric, Ben Gibbard and John Mayer all came out with new stuff this year? Some of my musical curiosity has gotten pushed aside to spend time on other things- something to work on in the new year, I suppose.

      • January 3, 2013 4:51 pm

        It’s impossibly to listen to everything in a given year, but definitely fun to try! And yes, all the albums you mentioned are amazing 🙂

Leave a Reply

